6th Annual FracTracker Sentinel Awards (Video)

The awards ceremony begins with music, introductions, and then you’ll hear from outstanding grassroots organizers Edith Abeyta, Yvette Arellano, Theresa Landrum, and Brenda Jo “BJ” McManama.

Dozens of supporters and grassroots leaders participated from all across the movement to recognize the hard-fought successes and perilous struggle for environmental justice.

Four inspirational grassroots activists have nominated by their community and selected to receive the award. At the ceremony, you will hear their stories of resistance against the oil, gas, and petrochemical industries.

Against all odds, these individuals have worked with their communities to create healthier, more equitable living conditions.

The 6th Community Sentinel Awards happened on December 10th, 2020 to honor Edith Abeyta, Yvette Arellano, Theresa Landrum, and Brenda Jo McManama.

Sign the network-wide thank you card here

Join the in https://network.halttheharm.net/home

The event featured inspirational speakers, short video presentations, and of course, recognition and celebration of the Sentinel Award winners.

The ceremony was followed by breakout rooms where attendees were able to mingle and chat with award recipients.

Congratulations to this year’s Sentinel Award Winners!

  • Edith Abeyta of North Braddock, Pennsylvania
  • Yvette Arellano of Houston, Texas
  • Theresa Landrum of Detroit, Michigan, 48217
  • Brenda Jo McManama of Fairmont, West Virginia

Previous Sentinel Award Winners

Allie Rosenbluth
Melissa Troutman
Ron Gulla
Sharon Lavigne

Ellen Gerhart – Pennsylvania
Natasha Leger – Colorado
Rebecca Roter – Pennsylvania
Youth award: Nalleli Cobo – California

Ranjana Bhandari – Arlington, TX
Frank Finan – Hop Bottom, PA
Ray Kemble – Montrose, PA

Alma Hasse – Fruitland, ID
Alex Lotorto – Milford, PA
Vera Scroggins – Brackney, PA

Dory Hippauf – Dallas, PA
Craig Stevens – Herndon, VA
Therese Vick – Raleigh, NC


Halt the Harm Network is supported by Netcentric Campaigns.